Comments – Give Thanks

Rhiana,
I’m extremely thankful for my mother as well. She is even more than a mother to me. She is a best friend. I’m always so happy to find other daughters that feel the same about their mother. Also, it is so cool that you found a life changing book. I like books that offer a different perspective and improve my life. Happy Thanksgiving!

-Bree Haggard

Shannon,
Like you, I’m also thankful for the Office of Admissions. Technically, I’m not employed by the department; I’m a Southern Ambassador (campus tour guide). But the Happy Hardwood folks are some of the nicest people on campus! I always love walking into Lewis Hall. Happy Thanksgiving!
-Bree Haggard

Give Thanks – Breaking Bad

Currently, I am completely and totally and absolutely and utterly obsessed with Breaking Bad. Although the television show has already ended, I watch the series on Netflix (I AM SUPER THANKFUL FOR NETFLIX). While I am EXTREMELY grateful for the obvious things in my life (family, friends, food, water, clothing, shelter), I am also thankful that Breaking Bad has entered my life. Here are the ten Breaking Bad related things that I am thankful for:

1. I am extremely thankful for the stellar acting performances by each actor and actress on the show. Each character, no matter how large of a role, is extremely important to the story as a whole. Although Bryan Cranston’s Walter White character is the main character, the side characters are equally as interesting. Also, for the first time, I really enjoy watching a “sinful/morally wrong” show and rooting for characters that have done bad things.

2. I am extremely thankful for the cinematography of the show. As a Multimedia Communications major, I really appreciate when a television show pays special attention to the filming and editing process. The show plays with color particularly making the desert scenes look even more red and orange. Also, the framing of each shot is unparalleled. I especially love these POV moments: http://www.wired.com/underwire/2012/01/breaking-bad-pov/.

3. I am extremely thankful for the science lessons. If Walter White had been my chemistry teacher, then I might have actually liked science.

4. I am extremely thankful for the excellent writing on the show. Each episode is always left on a cliffhanger especially season finales. There is never a dead episode, which is basically an episode to pass time because the writers have run out of story ideas. The content is constantly fresh and innovative. The actors and actresses present the writing beautifully. Although it sounds like a major stretch to say that Walter White went from beloved science teacher with cancer to major drug dealer, you never doubt any piece of the puzzle. Honestly, there is never one second that I am bored with the plot line.

5. I am extremely thankful for the funny moments in the show. Typically, the show is extremely tense and dramatic. Yet, every now and again, there are really funny moments including most scenes with Bob Odenkirk’s Saul Goodman character, Walter Jr. eating breakfast, and any scene involving Skinny Pete and Badger.

6. I am extremely thankful for the music and sound effects on the show. For any project, the audio is a main element that moves the story forward. The selection of songs has been the perfect accompaniment to each shot. Some stand-out songs include “Crystal Blue Persuasion” by Tommy John, “Windy” by The Association, and “Major Tom” by Gale Boetticher.

7. I am extremely thankful that the show received the recognition that it deserved. Breaking Bad received nominations for multiple award shows, and ultimately, the show took home the grand prize on several occasions. The show’s cast including Bryan Cranston, Aaron Paul, and Anna Gunn won awards as well.

8. I am extremely thankful for Walter Jr. and his love of breakfast. It is almost a running joke throughout the series. It provides a nice comedic relief at times as well. Here is a link to an article that lists every single thing that Walter Jr. ate on the show: http://www.thrillist.com/eat/nation/every-single-thing-that-walt-jr-eats-for-breakfast-on-breaking-bad.

9. I am extremely thankful for Aaron Paul. Read these articles and you’ll love Aaron Paul, too:

http://mashable.com/2013/09/29/20-reasons-we-love-aaron-paul/

http://www.buzzfeed.com/daves4/reasons-why-aaron-paul-should-be-your-favorite-act

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/08/07/aaron-paul-is-awesome_n_3689180.html

http://www.buzzfeed.com/mackenziekruvant/aaron-paul-loves-his-wife-makes-us-want-to-die-of-envy

10. I am extremely thankful for Bryan Cranston. Why? He was Walter White. Enough said.