Shopping With Your Phone

Whether I am shopping or completing any other activity, I always keep my phone nearby. Although I do not receive a large amount of text messages or phone calls, it is convenient as well as almost comforting to have access to my phone. I use my phone for several reasons including keeping in touch with contacts, searching the Internet, browsing my Twitter feed, taking pictures/video, and utilizing my mobile applications. According to the article, I am in the Checking Customer Reviews category. Especially for cosmetic items, I like to check customer reviews online to ensure that I do not waste money on poor items. Occasionally, I will send a text message or call someone while shopping. However, I prefer to wait until after I’m finished shopping to ensure that I can give my full attention to the person. I don’t use social networks or compare product prices while shopping. I don’t have any mobile applications for any particular stores on my phone. However, I do have two shopping related applications – Groupon and Hautelook. Both of these shopping websites offer major money-saving deals on various items. I don’t typically buy anything off of these websites, but it’s entertaining to browse the items.

My client, McDonald’s, does have several mobile applications. It has an application for multiple countries around the world. In addition, it even offers a McPlay application (a kid friendly gaming application) and a GM Coach’s Playbook (a reference guide to assist in coaching and mentoring McDonald’s General Managers). Unfortunately, the McDonald’s USA application has extremely poor reviews. It offers basic features including Restaurant Locator, Nutrition Information, Careers, Promotions, and Contact Us. I really like the unique Careers feature, which allows future employers to check for job openings. Also, all of the other features appear to be quite helpful. However, customers are very disappointed in the usefulness of the application specifically the Restaurant Locator feature. The phrase “i’m not lovin’ it” appeared several times in the Reviews section. Hopefully, McDonald’s can make improvements because mobile applications are used by most customers.

2 thoughts on “Shopping With Your Phone

  1. Even when my phone isn’t getting activity I don’t like to not have it around either. I feel incomplete without it. I also fell in the Checking Customer Reviews category as well. I will literally roam YouTube for hours to get information on a cosmetic item before I actually go to purchase it.

    I can’t really say that I am surprised that the McDonald’s app doesn’t have good reviews for their mobile app. I’ve never heard about it and I don’t really hear too much about it online. I think what would be helpful for McDonald’s is having nutritional information available on their app. The nutritional value of their food products is always questionable so I think that this addition would build their credibility.

  2. Pingback: Week 12 Comments | Do the Write Thing

Leave a comment